Contemporary Expression


April Means Film Festival
April 12, 2008, 2:03 pm
Filed under: Film Festival

It’s that perennial time of the year when the Nashville Film Festival invades and washes over all of my creative energy. April 17-24 at The Regal in Green Hills here in Nashville all senses will be challenged. I have always been a fan of the movies. Good ones..ones that make you think for a few days after or once that you can dismiss immediately after as quickly as cotton candy. They are all relevant to me as an artist.

Like most LGBT people finding stories that can relate to my life are harder to find than most. I just can’t stand hetro-romantic comedies unless they are over the top Bollywood films.

I love POV docs and foreign films with good stories and action films with heroes. I can’t stand the romantic comedy. Unless – They come from lesbian film makers.

Lee Freidlander’s OUT AT THE WEDDING will be at the festival this year and it’s funny and clever and although I think its a bit sluggish at the beginning to get to the plot I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good story. WERE THE WORLD MINE is the other LGBT feature at the fest this year and it is quite fantastic and a must not miss film. The Shorts programs are great and the Nash Film Fest is set for further respect in the genre.

Some of the best new television is not just happening on Showtime and HBO. LOGO’s EXES AND OHS from Michelle Paradise had a wonderful first season and you can down load all 6 episodes for 10 bucks on Itunes or buy the box in May. You can meet Michelle and Lee at the film festival. Out & About Newspaper and LOGO are sponsoring a reception for all the LGBT film makers on Monday night the 21st after the OUT AT THE WEDDING screening.

It’s smooze time for me that week as I enjoy feeding at the artistic smorgasbord I will be telling everyone that will listen about the beauty and importance of The Nashville Shakespeare Festival to our community. Art – its’ not just a gig, it’s my life.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

