Contemporary Expression


Holding Up Half of The Sky
March 13, 2009, 6:45 pm
Filed under: artwork, grace, Living An Artful Life, The Art Files
image: Image Copyright 2008 Lynette Vought. All Rights Reserved
click on image to visit her blog Mythmaking from the Otherside
Her works are wonderful and you should know of her.
I was quite moved by two wonderful speeches this last Wednesday by two very different women.
Cordia Harrington, the founder, CEO, and president of Tennessee Bun Company, spoke at The Nashville Business Breakfast about making dough in tough times. But what I heard her say was quite profoundly simple.
As an entrepreneur; if you have a good idea, you know its a good idea, no one can really tell you it’s not until you just try it. If you find that its not a good idea after all , you get another idea, you make friends with the people that give good advise, and you try again.
Founded in 1996, Tennessee Bun Company supplies buns to restaurants such as McDonald’s, Chili’s and Pepperidge Farm. TBC is one of the most highly automated bakeries in the world, producing 1,000 buns per minute, and ships to 40 states east of the Rockies and to the Caribbean.
That afternoon, I went to the monthly CABLE luncheon and heard Joyce Searcy, the President and CEO of Bethlehem Centers of Nashville. Bethlehem Centers of Nashville promotes self-reliance and positive life choices for children, youth and adults in Middle Tennessee by delivering and advocating quality programs and services. Her topic was in celebration of the work of women in particular . She invoked the familiar Chinese proverb “Women hold up half the sky.”
She made powerful points about accountability and duty and strength and she enlightened the women there with her fearless diligence. She reminded me of another simple profound truth.
As a person, each small thing matters. Each large thing we do is not sustainable if it is not small things all together working. Lives are changed this way.
Today is my birthday. It is natural to reflect on my life and the work it has engaged in. All the little things adding up, all the large things without enough support that fell away. My arms get very tired sometimes but I am happy to say that I am doing my best to help hold up half the sky, a little bit at a time.

addthis_url=”; addthis_title=”; addthis_pub=’NVanReece’;

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

These are really great thoughts. The entire entrepreneurial process is about TRYING. Trying new things – even if they end up failing, you will learn and grow and if you keep trying, eventually it will click. Check out this vlog by Sam Davidson on ‘Trying’ – it’s good stuff. And hey, come by my blog sometime too while your at it! <>EDIT: As soon as I posted this, went and looked for the link to Sam, and you had posted there as well. You and I are on the same page. Awesome!<>

Comment by Matthew

Thanks Matt! – Sam is ..well… cool.

Comment by Nancy VanReece

Nancy, Thanks for your kind words and including me in your blog. I also appreciated reading the rest of your post. My work will be in a gallery in Louisville during the month of May. I don’t know how close you are, but let me know if you’d like to attend and I’ll send you as invitation.Best,Lynettelynettevought@yahoo.com

Comment by Lynette




Leave a Reply

