Contemporary Expression


A Refreshed Artist Statement
May 27, 2009, 12:32 am
Filed under: artwork, branding, change, Nancy VanReece

Artist Statement
No matter what phase of life I am in I have learned to always apply a basic principle to my approach to art: I need color, texture, movement and light or I am just not interested. These fundamental elements form the cornerstone of all of the many ways I express myself, but have their origins in my work on the canvas.
I began my career in contemporary and abstract expression in the mid- 90’s focusing on elemental and nature themes until a hand injury left me without the ability to paint for over 18 months. A retreat to Santa Fe, New Mexico in spring of 2003 renewed my body and my mind with inspiration and guidance from other respected expressionists.
This renewed period in my life produced many changes in my approach to my expression on canvas by encouraging me to create energy and movement in multimedia spaces through multi-layered acrylic and series of antique photographs. I also adopted the method of using water in differing streams of force as well as natural texture elements with acrylic on canvas. These techniques allowed me to more fully express new ideas and inspirations through the use of movement and texture along with color and light.
In 2004 and 2005 I applied my newfound dedication to these four essential elements to any art to several popular series on behaviors, whimsical animals and large scale landscapes. 2006 saw me interpreting show places in my memory or places I wish existed. And I am currently focusing on abstract expressions of people and places of import to my personal continuity and sense of history.
Without what I feel to be the essential elements of expression—movement, texture, color and light—my art would be severely handicapped. History moves us forward in time. The texture of culture, fashion, ethos and ideas make up the fabric of all history. Color has always been a powerful interpreter of emotion and light has shaped all things by shades throughout recorded time.
It is my sincere hope that my approach to the idea that a person is the sum total of all the events, people and places that went before them will resonate in these expressions. If someone walks away having learned that their own journey is an artful one, then I have accomplished my goal. I will have helped by creating an object that tells us the story of what has gone before us in the past that made us what we are and will continue to shape us as we move forward.

I hope that you will join me at Ugly Mugs Coffee & Tea in Nashville, TN during the month of June for a exhibition of new portraits and recent expressions.

The works will be up for viewing at Ugly Mugs as well as on my website as of June 1, 2009

There will be a reception sponsored by Nashville PRIDE on Tuesday June 9th from 5:30-7pm – 50% of the proceeds of any artwork purchased that evening will be donated back to Nashville Pride.

addthis_url=”; addthis_title=”; addthis_pub=’NVanReece’;

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

