Contemporary Expression


I am a cowpoke afterall
August 24, 2009, 2:43 pm
Filed under: branding, social media

I put out a call for some recommendations for my Linked In Page and I have been pleasantly surprised at how my marketing work has floated to the surface of the comments so far. It is the part of the job that I like the most because it is all about relationship building. Who wouldn’t want to work in a community based, mission driven organization with an excellent selfless staff and committed board of directors.

Seth Godin nails it for me:
Brands that matter In this era, there are two questions every marketer answers:

  • Do I want people to interact with me and my brand in unexpected ways (as opposed to just quietly consume it)?
  • When they interact, do I overwhelm people with delight worth remarking about?

Vibrant growing brands manage to answer both questions with a resounding ‘yes.’ It’s not an accident and it’s not easy, but if you do it right, it may be worth it.

When I was a little girl I thought the cowboy way looked pretty cool. Now I realize I’m just a cowpoke branding my way through life after all.

Hey marketers: Does this sound about right?: A cowpoke is a hired ranch hand who is responsible for managing cattle. Cowpokes may also be referred to as cowboys, paniolos, or vaqueros, depending on the region of the world under discussion.
A cowpoke must be talented in a number of fields. He or she is a skilled rider, able to handle a horse and work with the animal to accomplish common goals. Cowpokes must also be comfortable with cattle, sometimes in large amounts, and they often perform basic medical care for horses and cows alike. On very large spreads, a cowpoke may spend a fair amount of time away from the ranch, camping in the field with other cowpokes, who take turns preparing food.

Self Portrait 1971 in Colorado, from the Oklahoma Memories series painting by Nancy VanReece, (c) 2006 Contemporary Expression, a div. of Carpe Diem Copyright Management
addthis_url=”; addthis_title=”; addthis_pub=’NVanReece’;

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

